WI Wednesday & Gym Ramblings

Happy Wednesday! Though I’m trying not to focus on the scale too much, I have decided to bring back my Wednesday weigh ins. I’m very happy to report that I am down 2.4 pounds this week. It’s been a long time coming, but I’m feeling good again. Physically and mentally (mostly anyway).

I also bought myself some new shoes, which totally helps. New running shoes make everything better. Brooks released the Ghost 8 at the beginning of June so the Ghost 7 is discounted a lot of places. Our local running store had them for about 40% off retail price. I bought them in both colors they had in my size. 🙂 I wasn’t big on the kaleidoscope pattern online, but it’s actually pretty cool in person.

brooksghost7

Getting back to the gym and other regular workouts has been more beneficial than I could have imagined. I forgot how much I enjoyed early morning workouts. And I’m even learning to embrace evening workouts when morning ones aren’t possible.

As I said in my last post, we joined a gym last week. The website lets you stalk yourself, which is super cool. (How odd that I scanned in at exactly the same time on Thursday and Saturday? I’m weird and notice things like that.)gymlog63015

I’ve been doing a mix of the elliptical and treadmill (C25K/walking), with one little stint on the arc trainer thrown in. We also did some short bike rides outside on Friday and Saturday, and I walked the dog a mile or two on Sunday. Obviously, selfies and photogrids were involved. Because if there’s no photo, it didn’t happen, right? 😉

IMG_9098

The elliptical is a lot harder than it used to be. And I can tell why I’ve been struggling with my running (other than being heavier). My quads are definitely not as strong as they were 2 years ago. But I noticed last night how much “easier” it was than it was last week. It’s incredibly empowering and motivating to feel your progress.

IMG_9061

My plan for the upcoming week is to keep on the same path: eating moderately, doing purposeful exercise regularly, and #wycwyc’ing my way through the rest of the day. The holiday weekend may prove to be a challenge, but I will #wycwyc, be reasonable, and not beat myself up.

Leave a Reply

